Latest News:
House of Night Marathon - 7 complete!
Recent Posts

[Stacking the Shelves] - #45

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews and is all about sharing the books you are adding to your bookshelf, be it the physical one or your digital one!

     It's been a while hasn't it. I apologize for being gone for so long. Work called and my hours got changed. I have been working on and off, doing split shifts, and training a new girl. While the light is appearing at the end of the tunnel, I am not sure how much longer I will have to work both days and nights. Either way I am hoping to get back to blogging and sharing reviews. Furthermore, I want to try to update and renovate the blog, but I am not sure what I want and what I'm looking for. We'll see...

     So this week, there isn't a specific theme to the books that were picked up long ago. I know it's been a while since I have posted books and while I understand that my list has grown longer over the time I've been away, I hope to get the books I have picked up out to everyone as fast as I can. I am not sure how often I'll be able to post my take on why I picked up the book at all, but I will as often as I can.

The Thing About Forever
The Ward

Mailbox Pickup:

Title: The Truth About Forever
   Author: Sarah Dessen
   Format: Paperback
   Release Date: May 11th, 2004

     A long, hot summer...

     That's what Macy has to look forward to while her boyfriend, Jason, is away at Brain Camp. Days will be spent at a boring job in the library, evenings will be filled with vocabulary drills for the SATs, and spare time will be passed with her mother, the two of them sharing a silent grief at the traumatic loss of Macy's father.

     But sometimes unexpected things can happen—things such as the catering job at Wish, with its fun-loving, chaotic crew. Or her sister's project of renovating the neglected beach house, awakening long-buried memories. Things such as meeting Wes, a boy with a past, a taste for Truth-telling, and an amazing artistic talent, the kind of boy who could turn any girl's world upside down. As Macy ventures out of her shell, she begins to wonder, Is it really better to be safe than sorry?

Title:  The Ward
   Author: Jordana Frankel
   Format: Hardcover
   Release Date: April 30th, 2013

     Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

     However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

     Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.

     The Ward has been on my list for a long while, after it was compared to Scott Westerfeld and there was even a report of Veronica Roth. It's very clear that my favorite book is Divergent and from there I was drawn to this book on comparison. The Ward is something different, and while I don't completely agree that the comparison is justified. I am wondering just how far The Ward will go to be like some other book. I want this book to be original, something unique.

Title: Invisibility
   Author: Andrea Cremer and David Levithan
   Format: Hardcover
   Release Date: May 7th, 2013

     Stephen has been invisible for practically his whole life — because of a curse his grandfather, a powerful cursecaster, bestowed on Stephen’s mother before Stephen was born. So when Elizabeth moves to Stephen’s NYC apartment building from Minnesota, no one is more surprised than he is that she can see him. A budding romance ensues, and when Stephen confides in Elizabeth about his predicament, the two of them decide to dive headfirst into the secret world of cursecasters and spellseekers to figure out a way to break the curse. But things don’t go as planned, especially when Stephen’s grandfather arrives in town, taking his anger out on everyone he sees. In the end, Elizabeth and Stephen must decide how big of a sacrifice they’re willing to make for Stephen to become visible — because the answer could mean the difference between life and death. At least for Elizabeth.

     Invisibility spawned something different inside of me. Andrea Cremer and David Levithan together for a book. While I haven't read any of Cremer's work, I have it anxiously awaiting me to get around to it. However Levithan is a different story and the more I read from him the more I enjoy just how well he can mold a character together and the bonds they form with supporting characters. The two together weaving complex supernatural and contemporary relationships together, this book is heading for something different and revolutionary, in my mind.

Title:  Unraveling
   Author: Elizabeth Norris
   Format: Hardcover
   Release Date: April 24th, 2012

     Sixteen-year-old Janelle Tenner is used to having a lot of responsibility. She balances working as a lifeguard in San Diego with an intense academic schedule. Janelle's mother is bipolar, and her dad is a workaholic FBI agent, which means Janelle also has to look out for her younger brother, Jared.

     And that was before she died... and is brought back to life by Ben Michaels, a mysterious, alluring loner from her high school. When she discovers a strange clock that seems to be counting down to the earth's destruction, Janelle learns she has twenty-four days to figure out how to stop the clock and save the planet.

     I have been looking to read this book for a long time. So when I saw the book at Anderson's Bookshop signed, I couldn't pass it up. I was excited, but at the same time I found that a few people I follow had a few depressing reviews and comments about this book. I am skeptical as well, but I have to say the thrill of a countdown to save the world is a plot that I can't avoid. I have to at least give it a shot and see where it lands me.

Title: Unbreakable
   Author: Elizabeth Norris
   Format: Hardback
   Release Date: April 23rd, 2013

     Four months after Ben disappeared through the portal to his home universe, Janelle believes she’ll never see him again. Her world is still devastated, but life is finally starting to resume some kind of normalcy. Until Interverse Agent Taylor Barclay shows up. Somebody from an alternate universe is running a human trafficking ring, kidnapping people and selling them on different Earths—and Ben is the prime suspect. Now his family has been imprisoned and will be executed if Ben doesn’t turn himself over within five days.

     And when Janelle learns that someone she cares about—someone from her own world—has become one of the missing, she knows that she has to help Barclay, regardless of the danger. Now Janelle has five days to track down the real culprit. Five days to locate the missing people before they’re lost forever. Five days to reunite with the boy who stole her heart. But as the clues begin to add up, Janelle realizes that she’s in way over her head—and that she may not have known Ben as well as she thought. Can she uncover the truth before everyone she cares about is killed?
Support : Creating Website | Johny Template | Mas Template
Copyright © 2011. The Paper Critic - All Rights Reserved
Template Created by Creating Website Published by Mas Template
Proudly powered by Blogger